this blog has moved to a new address:

Please update your RSS, bookmarks, and links to

Monday, September 17, 2007

official 2007 edmonton municipal election candidates list.

Today was nomination day at City Hall. Here is the final list of candidates for the Edmonton Municipal Election on October 15, 2007. I will be posting profiles of each ward and their candidates over the course of the election.

2007 Edmonton City Council candidates
(* indicates incumbency)

Mayor of Edmonton
(edmonton election 2007: the non-race for mayor)
Dustin Becker
Dave Dowling
Khaled Kheireddine
Don Koziak
Peter Lefaivre
Robert Ligertwood
George Lam
Stephen Mandel*
Bill Whatcott

Edmonton City Council

Ward 1
(edmonton election 2007: ward 1)
Betty Kennedy
Andrew Knack
Karen Leibovici*
Linda Sloan*

Ward 2
(edmonton election 2007: the race for ward 2)
Jabin Caouette
Ron Hayter*
Kerry Hutton
Kim Krushell*
Dave Loken
Mike Sokoluik
Shelley Tupper

Ward 3

(edmonton election 2007: a race in ward 3)

Kyle Balombin
Tony Caterina
Ed Gibbons*
Shiu Wing Mak
Chris Martin
Chris Roehrs
Thomas James Tomilson
Harvey Voogd
(Councillor Janice Melnychuk is not seeking re-election)

Ward 4

(edmonton election 2007: something about ward 4)

Jane Batty*
Nyambura Mia Belcourt
Lewis Cardinal
Judith (Jodi) Flatt
Ben Henderson
Sheila McKay
Brian Patterson
Deborah Peaker
Adil Pirbhai
Hana Razga
Thomas Roberts
Margaret Saunter
Brent Thompson
Brian Wissink
Debbie Yeung
(Councillor Michael Phair is not seeking re-election)

Ward 5
(edmonton election 2007: choice in ward 5)

Bryan Anderson*
Don Iveson
Brent Michalyk
Mike Nickel*

Ward 6
(edmonton election 2007: wrath of ward 6)

Lori Jeffery-Heaney
Chuck McKenna
Chinwe Okelu
Amarjeet Sohi
Dave Thiele*
Thomas Dennis Vasquez
(Councillor Terry Cavanagh is not seeking re-election)


Anonymous said...

Hey Dave,

I'm still curious why you dropped Amarjeet Sohi's link from your sidebar? Up until recently you had him tagged like you do for Don Iveson and Ben Henderson. Why the change?

Hope it's not a partisan move to support the known Liberal Chinwe Okelu. Not that it matters, Mr. Okelu has lost 3 times before, the pattern is set.

daveberta said...

Don't read too much into it. It was nothing personal and it wasn't a partisan decision.

I'm sure Amarjeet is a solid council candidate and I am still impressed with his work with Public Interest Alberta (which is how I know of him). I think he also has a very good chance of taking the Ward 6 seat vacated by Terry Cavanagh.

I decided to wait until the election to see who were the other candidates that stepped forward to contest the empty Ward 6 seat. I will be profiling the wards and candidates in the weeks to come.

Anonymous said...

Dave, there are two council seats per ward and you could endorse them both.

Anonymous said...

Thanks for clearing that up Dave.

Personally I'll be supporting Dave Thiele and Amarjeet Sohi in Ward 6, my home.

Mr. Thiele has provided solid leadership for Ward 6 on city council for some time, and the few times I have felt the need to contact him, I always get a personalized response from him (not his staff) the same day!

Mr. Sohi seems like the most promising candidate of the batch and I hope he takes the other Ward 6 seat. His PIA experience is only one of many ways he has helped Edmonton out. He has also played a key role in organizing Mill Woods fabulous Canada Day event for a few years now, and he is involved with lots of other good initiatives and groups too, the Mill Woods Crime Council being another important group that jumps to mind.