this blog has moved to a new address:

Please update your RSS, bookmarks, and links to

Monday, September 24, 2007

tory nominated in edmonton-manning.

In a surprise win, Peter Sandhu bested former MLA Tony Vandermeer, Emerson Mayers, and Independent MLA Dan Backs in this weekend's Edmonton-Manning PC nomination.

This is disappointing on two fronts. First, Sandhu's nomination means that the Tories won't have the pleasure of running Dan Backs under their banner. And second, it means that I now have no reason to post the series of embarrassing emails that Mayers sent me a couple of weeks ago.

It also looks like it's backs to the drawing board for Dan Backs...

Sandhu will face strong competition from Alberta Liberal candidate Sandeep Dhir in Edmonton-Manning in the next election.

Edmonton-Manning has been held by the Alberta Liberals from 1993 to 2001 and 2004 to 2006 and by the Tories from 2001 to 2004.


Simon said...

And by the NDP from 1986-1993.

daveberta said...

Actually, the ND's held Edmonton-Belmont from 1986 to 1993. In 1993, it became Edmonton-Manning. But point taken.

Anonymous said...

With Stelmach's getting dragged through the mud in the cities Manning should be an easy pick up for the Libs.

Anonymous said...

I'm curious about these Emerson Mayers're leaving us hanging, Dave!

Anonymous said...

You need to know who to ask Dave...this wasn't a surprise.