this blog has moved to a new address:

Please update your RSS, bookmarks, and links to

Wednesday, April 05, 2006

klein shuffles his cabinet.

In the wake of three Ministerial resignations, Premier Ralph Klein has shuffled his cabinet today.

This move shifts around some current Ministers, while also bringing in a couple backbenchers into the fold.

It looks like June 1th just turned into April 5th...

Here is how the new cabinet shakes out (changes are italizied):

Ralph Klein (Calgary-Elbow) - Premier, President of Executive Council, Chair of Agenda and Priorities, Vice-Chair of Treasury Board, Minister responsible for the Public Affairs Bureau.

Shirley McClellan (Drumheller-Stettler) - Deputy Premier, Minister of Finance, Chair of Treasury Board, Vice-Chair of Agenda and Priorities Committee.

Ron Stevens (Calgary-Glenmore) - Minister of Justice and Attorney General

Iris Evans (Sherwood Park) - Minister of Health and Wellness

Ty Lund (Rocky Mountain House) - Minister of Infrastructure and Transportation (Moved from Government Services)

Gary Mar (Calgary-Mackay) - Minister of International and Intergovernmental Relations (Moved from Community Development)

Clint Dunford (Lethbridge-West) - Minister of Economic Development

Gene Zwozdesky (Edmonton-Mill Creek) - Minister of Education

Greg Melchin (Calgary-North West) - Minister of Energy

Mike Cardinal (Athabasca-Redwater) - Minister of Human Resources and Employment, and Minister Responsible for Personnel Administration Office

Guy Boutilier (Fort McMurray-Wood Buffalo) - Minister of Environment

Heather Forsyth (Calgary-Fish Creek) - Minister of Children's Services

Victor Doerksen (Red Deer-South) - Minister of Innovation and Science

David Coutts (Livingstone-Macleod) - Minister of Sustainable Resource Development

Pearl Calahasen (Lesser Slave Lake) - Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development

Gordon Graydon (Grande Prairie-Wapiti) - Minister of Gaming

Rob Renner (Medicine Hat) - Minister of Municipal Affairs

Luke Ouellette (Innisfail-Sylvan Lake) - Minister of Restructuring and Government Efficiency

Harvey Cenaiko (Calgary-Buffalo) - Solicitor General & Minster of Public Security

Yvonne Fritz (Calgary-Cross) - Minister of Seniors and Community Supports

Doug Horner (Spruce Grove-Sturgeon-St. Albert) - Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Development

Denis Herard (Calgary-Egmont) - Minister of Advanced Education (New to cabinet)

Denis Ducharme (Bonnyville-Cold Lake) - Minister of Community Development (New to cabinet)

George VanderBurg (Whitecourt-Ste. Anne) - Minister of Government Services (New to cabinet)

Barry McFarland (Little Bow) - Associate Minister of Infrastructure and Transportation, and Minister Responsible for Capital Planning (New to cabinet & a newly created position)


Jim said...

Whoa, whatever happened to the "good ol' days" of slashing the amount of cabinet posts?

Anonymous said...

Slashing cabinet posts are soooo early-1990's.

Sam said...

The glacier that is Alberta politics is quickly melting. In the span of five hours I had a minister, I had no minister and then I had a different minister.

Anonymous said...

Was I the only one suprised by the new faces in cabinet? They seem to be some of the quieter [and loyaler to Klein?] MLAs in the Tory caucus.

Anonymous said...

Denis Herard in Cabinet? Geez the guy's been a bench warmer for Ralph for ages. (He's also about the most ineffective MLA I've seen for a long time)

The only good thing about him is he keeps his mouth shut most of the time so you don't hear the sycophantic rubbish of someone sucking up to Ralph.